Book Reviews

Citrix XenApp 7.x Performance Essentials
Citrix XenApp 7.x Performance Essentials
by Luca Dentella
Edition: Paperback
Price: $24.29
5 used & new from $24.29

4.0 out of 5 stars Really Good Book!September 16, 2014
This book provides great optimization techniques. At the beginning, the author covers all the new concepts that differ from XenApp 6.5. Then the author moves into how to optimize the environment and user experience. I really enjoyed the section on optimizing the WAN experience. The author takes you from architecture all the way through to using EdgeSight to monitor. The book touches on pretty much everything that can be used in a XenApp 7.x environment including a brief section on CloudBridge.
The author uses real world experiences throughout the book. I really like that aspect, it provides a personal perspective. While my experience may differ a bit, it is a great addition to the book.
I highly recommend the book for anyone looking to optimize a XenApp 7.x environment!




Managing Windows Servers with Chef
Managing Windows Servers with Chef
Price: $11.49

4.0 out of 5 stars Nice intro on using Chef with WindowsJune 13, 2014
This book gives a great intro on how to use Chef within a Windows only or heterogeneous environment. The author take you over a brief overview of Chef architecture and how it is used. He continues with explaining the differences and similarities of the commands used in managing a Windows environment like windows_package, windows_reboot, windows_ziplfile, etc. Then the author takes the reader through actually running a predefined application set to show the power of using chef with Windows. Next up is using Chef on cloud services. The author then touches on building upon Chef and test-driven-delivery with RSpec and ChefSpec. If you have some Chef experience it will all be crystal clear. If you are a beginner, learn the basics of Chef, then tackle Windows. I really enjoyed this book. I wish it was out earlier as I predominately use Chef with Windows and it would have been a great resource to have when I was starting out. I highly recommend this book!


Citrix® XenApp® 6.5 Expert Cookbook
Citrix® XenApp® 6.5 Expert Cookbook
Price: $21.74

5.0 out of 5 stars Very detailed and informative book!June 4, 2014
The author takes you through the various components of a production Citrix environment and provides the reader with numerous deployment methodologies from command line installations and PowerShell scripts. The books also contains an optimization and troubleshooting guide. I really enjoyed reading this book. I would definitely recommend it to anyone running any version of XenApp prior to version 7.5. Really great book!









Windows PowerShell 3.0 Step by Step

Windows PowerShell 3.0 Step by Step
by Ed Wilson
Edition: Paperback
Price: $32.99

67 used & new from $24.99

4.0 out of 5 stars Great for the beginner!, September 8, 2013
Ed Wilson does it again with this book. This book contains the information needed to get started with PS as well as teach you some new stuff. After owing some of he other works, this is a great addition to my collection!




Instant Chef Starter

Instant Chef Starter
Price: $9.99


4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, August 31, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A great intro to Chef. Goes great with Opscode's #learnchef. Still need to get basic knowledge of Ruby. Author gives great resources at the back of the book!




The Phoenix Project: A Novel About IT, DevOps, and Helping Your Business Win

The Phoenix Project: A Novel About IT, DevOps, and Helping Your Business Win
Price: $9.99


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, March 13, 2013
This book really changed my perception of how much better IT can be if DevOps could be deployed within any organization. As a former enterprise engineer, I could relate to all the issues that kept arising within the book, I have lived them. If I had only had this book and known about the three ways then. Just a great book that I have told all my co-workers about. As the IT industry keeps evolving into ITaaS, DevOps will be come more and more important. I can't wait for the DevOps Cookbook!!!



2/11/13 Switching to the Mac - Mountain Lion Edition by David Pogue

Switching to the Mac, Mountain Lion Edition by David Pogue was an awesome book for me to review as I had just switched to a 13" Macbook Pro in November. Mr. Pogue describes all the necessary information in a clear and concise manner. This manual should be in the box as it states on the cover. This book has been invaluable to me as I was making my transition. While there are a couple things that I do still need a Windows VM to run, but besides those couple of tools, I have completely made the switch. The chapter on mapping Windows features and keystrokes to the Mac has been one of the best for me. I would highly recommend this manual to anyone that is looking to switch from PC to Mac. I will use this now as a reference guide. I also loved the extras! Great book!


11/4/12 - slide:ology  by Nancy Duarte

slide:ology The Art and Science of Creating Great Presentations is an awesome book.  This books covers everything that you need to transform you from a boring presenter to one that people want to listen to. It covers what color schemes to use, how to structure each slide, the correct amount of data for each slide and the best fonts to use. Basically, this book taught me the way I was doing presentations was wrong. No wonder I preferred to white board instead! The presentations that I have created since are much better. I continue to use this as my reference guide for creating great presentations. I give this book 5 out of 5. Highly recommended!




5.15.12 - Take Control of Your iPad by Tonya Engst

This book is a very good resource for any one new to an iPad or to someone that has used one but not the new features in iOS 5. Mrs. Engst has a nice flow to her writing and explains all the features clearly and in a fashion that even a novice will understand it. As an iPad user I even learned a few things I didn't know from this book. I give this book a 4 out of 5 and would recommend it!